LDHS Art Receives Awards

LDHS Art Receives Awards

36 Lake Dallas High School art students competed with 46 works of art in the Region 11N Visual Art Scholastic Event (VASE). The students brought home 9 Excellent ratings, 35 Superior ratings (regional) medals, and 4 state qualifiers.
The VASE state qualifiers include seniors Shelby Davis, Kallista Stamenov, and Chandler Weight and freshman Kyrstin Lake. They will compete in the State Competition in San Antonio on April 23, 2016.

The 9 LDHS art students that received an Excellent rating include seniors Kyra Hausam and Mike Howell, juniors Calle Buxton, Rachel Reagan and Briane Rutman, sophomores Destinee Blake, Bailey Dolezalek and Aryn Fisher, and freshman Delaney Cozart.

“These students put hours upon hours of work into their art and this show,” Mrs. Jeanette Murray, LDHS Art teacher said. “Mrs. Almeida and I couldn’t be more proud of them.”

The LDHS Visual Arts department also entered the Texas Visual Art Association’s Annual High School Art Show. Over 1,000 pieces of student art was entered and juried, with only around 100 pieces accepted into the show. LDHS is very pleased to announce that LDHS Electronic Media student, Erin Taylor, was accepted into the show with her abstracted photograph.

“We are so very proud of her,” Mrs. Murray said. “The show is open to the public, and runs through Sunday, March 20th at the UTD Visual Arts Gallery in Richardson. An artist reception will take place on Sunday March 20th from 2:30-4:00pm; and all are welcome to attend.”

27 artists received Superior ratings and are Regional Medalists.

Sionna Anderson (12) (double medalist)
Shelby Davis (12) (double medalist)
Randall Duckworth (12) (double medalist)
Trevor Frase (12)
Tatum Hayward (12) (double medalist)
Abigail Head (12) (double medalist)
Mike Howell (12)
Nicholas Munoz (12)
Connor Smith (12)
Kallista Stamenov (12)
Chandler Weight (12)
Holden Anderson (11)
Abigail Burner (11)
Ashley Fajardo (11)
Sydney Haldeman (11)
Sierra McKinley (11) (double medalist)
Emily Perez (11)
Anna Puente (11)
Lia Williams (11)
Abbey Bollinger (10)
Kara Chidester (10)
Alissa Hardwick (10)
Hannah Salas (10)
Blake Tatum (10)
Cynthia Harl (9)
Kyrstin Lake (9) (double medalist)
Helen Peattie (9) (double medalist)

Related Articles

Lake Cities Schools are Magnets for Home Buyers

Local schools are making the grade when it comes to drawing in home buyers. Cruvita.com compiled a list of the

Corinth Teen Headed to The Spotlight

Kylie Jensen of Corinth is packing her bags and looking forward to an opportunity of a lifetime, singing under the

8 Ways Parents Can Prepare For Back To School

by Steve Gamel It seems like only yesterday that we were talking about how summertime is about to be upon

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*